Skip to content
Independent franchise research. Free for buyers. See our data and studiesHow this site is paid
Fact sheet

Veteran Franchise Discounts: What 259 FDDs Offer, and What It Covers (2025 to 2026)

A measured count of franchisor incentives for veterans, their form and size against the total investment, eligibility rules, VetFran tiers and SBA veteran fee relief.
Updated Next update: After the 2027 FDD renewal season (late summer 2027), or sooner if SBA changes FY2027 feesBy the Editorial TeamData: CC BY 4.0
A folded United States flag in a wooden display case on an office shelf beside a new, closed business planner, soft morning light, no people, no text
Short answer

In our read of 259 franchise disclosure documents issued in 2025 and 2026, 130 (50.2%) offer veterans an incentive and 117 (45.2%) cut the initial franchise fee. The most common veteran franchise discount is 10% off that fee; the median is worth $6,000, or 3.08% of the low-end total investment. Only 3 touch royalties.

This fact sheet reports published data. It is not financial advice; requirements are as each brand published them on the date shown.

The numbers

01130130 of 259 franchise disclosure documents issued in 2025 and 2026 and registered in Minnesota (50.2%) disclose an incentive for veterans or service members (95% interval 44.1% to 56.2%).Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
02117117 of 259 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 (45.2%) offer veterans a discount on the initial franchise fee.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
0359.2%59.2% of veteran incentives in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 are a percentage off the initial franchise fee, and 26.9% are a flat dollar amount (United States franchise systems registered in Minnesota).Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
0410%10% is the most common veteran discount: 41 of 79 percentage offers in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 state exactly 10% of the initial fee.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
052025The median veteran fee discount in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 is worth $6,000, with a middle half of $5,000 to $10,000.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
063.08%The median veteran fee discount equals 3.08% of the low end and 1.76% of the high end of the same FDD’s Item 7 total initial investment (FDDs issued 2025 to 2026).Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
073Only 3 of 130 veteran incentives (2.3%) in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 reduce or credit royalties.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
0876.9%76.9% of veteran incentives in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 require an honorable discharge or DD-214 in the FDD text; 7.7% extend to spouses or family.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
0917.7%17.7% of FDDs with a veteran incentive (issued 2025 to 2026) also give first responders the same or a separate discount.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
1077.8%Senior and in-home care FDDs offer veteran incentives most often (77.8%) and personal services and beauty least often (27.8%), FDDs issued 2025 to 2026.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
116All 6 lodging veteran incentives in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 are forgivable development notes of $1,000 to $3,500 per room, not fee discounts.Minnesota CARDS FDDs, 2025 to 2026
1247.0%47.0% of veteran fee discounts in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 reach the 15% minimum IFA lists for a VetFran 3-Star partner in 2026, and 34.2% reach the 20% 5-Star minimum.Minnesota CARDS FDDs; IFA VetFran for Brand Partners
13$0SBA Express loans to veteran-owned businesses carry a $0 upfront guaranty fee in FY2026 and FY2027 (United States), while standard 7(a) loans have no veteran-specific fee relief.SBA Information Notice 5000-881797 (FY2027)
144.6%4.6% of veteran-owned U.S. employer firms operated as a franchise in 2023, the same rate as nonveteran-owned firms (Census ABS).Census ABS 2023 (2024 ABS)

Veteran franchise discounts in 12 numbers

Each figure comes from our coding of Item 5 and related sections in the same 259 franchise disclosure documents (FDDs) used in our franchise royalty rates report, from IFA program pages, from SBA fee notices or from the Census Annual Business Survey. Sources sit under each section.

  1. 50.2% of 259 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 disclose an incentive for veterans or service members (130 FDDs; 95% interval 44.1% to 56.2%).
  2. 45.2% (117 FDDs) offer a discount on the initial franchise fee.
  3. 59.2% of veteran incentives are a percentage off the initial franchise fee; 26.9% are a flat dollar amount.
  4. 10% is the most common stated discount (41 of 79 percentage offers).
  5. $6,000 is the median dollar value of a veteran fee discount (middle half $5,000 to $10,000).
  6. 3.08% of the low end of the Item 7 total initial investment is what the median discount covers; 1.76% of the high end.
  7. 3 of 130 veteran incentives (2.3%) reduce or credit royalties.
  8. 76.9% of incentives require an honorable discharge or DD-214 in the FDD text; 7.7% extend to spouses or family.
  9. 46 FDDs (17.8% of 259) name VetFran, the IFA Foundation’s veterans program.
  10. 47.0% of fee discounts reach the 15% minimum IFA lists for a VetFran 3-Star partner; 34.2% reach the 20% 5-Star minimum.
  11. $0 is the SBA Express upfront guaranty fee for veteran-owned businesses in FY2026 and again in FY2027.
  12. 4.6% of veteran-owned employer firms operated as a franchise in 2023, the same rate as nonveteran-owned firms (Census ABS).

How many franchisors offer veteran franchise discounts

About half do, and the rate depends on the sector. Of 259 FDDs issued between January 2025 and August 2026 and registered in Minnesota CARDS, 130 (50.2%) disclose an incentive for veterans or service members. The 95% interval for that sample share is 44.1% to 56.2%. 117 FDDs (45.2%) offer a discount on the initial franchise fee; the other 13 use credits, forgivable notes, financing terms, extra territory or royalty relief.

Senior and in-home care leads at 77.8% (14 of 18 FDDs), followed by home services (72.2%). Personal services and beauty is lowest at 27.8%. Every sector cell holds 17 to 27 FDDs, so the intervals in the table are wide and adjacent sectors cannot be told apart.

Lodging is a special case. All 6 lodging incentives are forgivable development notes disclosed in Item 10 (financing), worth $1,000 to $3,500 per room, and each is shared with a program for underrepresented entrepreneurs. None of the 18 lodging FDDs discounts the initial or affiliation fee for veterans.

FDDs issued in 2026 show a higher rate (56.9%, 103 of 181) than those issued in 2025 (34.6%, 27 of 78). These are different brands, one FDD each, so the gap is not a trend.

Figure 1Share of FDDs with a veteran incentive, by sector (FDDs issued 2025 to 2026, Minnesota registrations)
Senior and in-home care77.8%Home services72.2%Cleaning and restoration66.7%Pet services66.7%Business services50.0%Entertainment and recreation50.0%Fitness50.0%Automotive47.1%Health and wellness47.1%Education and children44.4%Food and beverage40.7%Lodging33.3%Retail33.3%Personal services and beauty27.8%
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Download data (CSV)
Table 1Veteran incentives by sector, FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 (Minnesota registrations)
SectorFDDs readWith a veteran incentiveShare with a veteran incentive (%)95% interval (%)With an initial-fee discount
Senior and in-home care181477.854.8 to 91.014
Home services181372.249.1 to 87.512
Cleaning and restoration181266.743.7 to 83.711
Pet services181266.743.7 to 83.712
Business services1895029.0 to 71.08
Entertainment and recreation1895029.0 to 71.09
Fitness1895029.0 to 71.09
Automotive17847.126.2 to 69.07
Health and wellness17847.126.2 to 69.08
Education and children18844.424.6 to 66.37
Food and beverage271140.724.5 to 59.311
Lodging18633.316.3 to 56.30
Retail18633.316.3 to 56.34
Personal services and beauty18527.812.5 to 50.95
All sectors25913050.244.1 to 56.2117
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. 95% Wilson intervals. Download CSV

What form veteran franchise discounts take and how large they are

The typical offer is a percentage off the initial franchise fee, and 10% is the most common percentage. 77 of the 130 incentives (59.2%) are a percentage off the fee, 35 (26.9%) a flat dollar amount, 2 a percentage with a dollar floor, and 3 waive the fee in full. 41 of the 79 percentage offers state exactly 10%; the 75th percentile is 20% and the largest is 50%.

Flat offers have a median of $6,000 (range $1,000 to $25,000). Converting every offer to dollars with each FDD’s own standard fee gives a median of $6,000, a middle half of $5,000 to $10,000 and a maximum of $35,000, where the fee is waived. As a share of the fee, the median is 10.71%; 11 discounts are under 10% of the fee.

26 FDDs also reduce another initial charge, most often an additional territory or development fee, or add a credit for equipment or inventory. Those extras are listed in the dataset but are not added to the dollar values above.

Figure 2Form of the veteran incentive (130 FDDs with an incentive, issued 2025 to 2026)
02040608077Percent off the initial franchise fee35Flat dollar amount off the initial franchise fee2Percent with a dollar alternative or cap3Initial franchise fee waived in full11Other incentive (credit, forgivable note, financing)2Royalty reduction only
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Download data (CSV)
Figure 3Veteran discount as a share of the initial franchise fee (117 initial-fee discounts, FDDs issued 2025 to 2026)
01530456011Under 10%5110% to 14.9%1515% to 19.9%3020% to 29.9%730% to 99%3100% (fee waived)
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Flat-dollar offers converted with each FDD's standard fee. Download data (CSV)
Table 2Form and median size of veteran incentives, 130 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026
Form of the veteran incentiveFDDsMedian discount (% of initial fee)Median discount ($)
Percent off the initial franchise fee77106,000
Flat dollar amount off the initial franchise fee3512.56,000
Initial franchise fee waived in full310035,000
Percent with a dollar alternative or cap2103,000
Other incentive (credit, forgivable note, financing)11
Royalty reduction only2
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Medians use each FDD's own standard initial fee. Download CSV

Veteran franchise discounts against the total investment

The discount is small next to the cost of opening. For each FDD with a fee discount we divided the discount by the total estimated initial investment that the same FDD discloses in Item 7 (see our franchise initial investment report). The median discount equals 3.08% of the low end of Item 7 and 1.76% of the high end. 74 of 117 discounts are under 5% of the low end, and 68 are under 2% of the high end.

The brands offering fee discounts have a median standard fee of $49,900 and a median Item 7 range of $215,400 to $445,018. The largest share is 24.13% of the low end, for a $25,000 flat discount.

Royalties are almost never touched. Only 3 of 130 incentives (2.3%) reduce or credit royalties: a 50% royalty reduction for the first six months (Meineke FDD, 2025), a $5,000 royalty credit (The Tutoring Center FDD, 2025), and a discretionary offer of reduced royalties (Pearle Vision FDD, 2026). Ongoing royalties and fund contributions, covered in our royalty rates report, continue at full rate for nearly every veteran buyer.

Figure 4Veteran discount as a share of the Item 7 total initial investment (117 FDDs, issued 2025 to 2026)
012.52537.55020Under 1%271% to 1.9%112% to 2.9%163% to 4.9%435% or more
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Item 7 totals from the same FDDs. Download data (CSV)
Most veteran offers reduce a one-time fee paid before opening (illustrative image).
Most veteran offers reduce a one-time fee paid before opening (illustrative image).

Who qualifies: discharge, active duty, spouses and first responders

Most veteran incentives name an honorable discharge, and few reach spouses. 100 of 130 FDDs (76.9%) require an honorable discharge or a DD-214 in their own text. Federal law defines a veteran as someone discharged “under conditions other than dishonorable” (38 U.S.C. 101(2)), so a franchisor’s rule can be narrower than the federal one.

31 FDDs (23.8%) also admit active-duty or currently serving members, 6 name Reserve or National Guard members, and 10 (7.7%) extend the offer to spouses or family. First responders share the same program in 15 FDDs and get a separate discount in 8 more, so 23 (17.7%) offer first responders something.

Conditions are common. 40.0% limit the incentive to the first unit, 23.1% bar combining it with other discounts, and 37 FDDs state a minimum ownership share for the veteran, usually 51%. None states an expiry date, though many say the franchisor may change or end the program.

Figure 5Eligibility rules and conditions stated in FDDs with a veteran incentive (130 FDDs, issued 2025 to 2026)
Honorable discharge (or DD-214) required in the FDD text76.9%Active-duty or currently serving members eligible23.8%Reserve or National Guard named4.6%Spouses or family members eligible7.7%First responders in the same program11.5%First responders offered a separate discount6.2%First unit (or one unit) only40.0%Cannot be combined with other discounts23.1%Limited-time offer or expiry date0.0%FDD names VetFran35.4%Minimum ownership share stated for the veteran28.5%
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Conditions not stated in the FDD are counted as absent. Download data (CSV)
Table 3Eligibility rules and conditions in 130 FDDs with a veteran incentive, issued 2025 to 2026
Rule or condition stated in the FDDFDDsShare of FDDs with a veteran incentive (%)
Honorable discharge (or DD-214) required in the FDD text10076.9
Active-duty or currently serving members eligible3123.8
Reserve or National Guard named64.6
Spouses or family members eligible107.7
First responders in the same program1511.5
First responders offered a separate discount86.2
First unit (or one unit) only5240
Cannot be combined with other discounts3023.1
Limited-time offer or expiry date00
FDD names VetFran4635.4
Minimum ownership share stated for the veteran3728.5
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Download CSV

VetFran tiers compared with the discounts in the FDDs

VetFran is the IFA Foundation’s veterans program, now 35 years old, and IFA says over 500 franchise brands take part (IFA, August 2026). Its Star System sets minimum discounts on the initial franchise fee: 10% for a 1-Star partner, 15% for 3-Star (plus 25 or more units and an Item 19) and 20% for 5-Star (plus 50 or more units, an 80% continuity rate and a Certified Franchise Executive) (IFA, VetFran for Brand Partners). IFA states that a star means only that minimum criteria were met and that it does not check brand submissions for accuracy.

Against those minimums, 90.6% of the 117 fee discounts in our sample reach 10% of the fee, 47.0% reach 15% and 34.2% reach 20%. Among the 38 FDDs that name VetFran and discount the fee, the shares are 97.4%, 60.5% and 50.0%. We cannot see any brand’s star status, and some FDDs predate the 2026 star pages, so these are comparisons with published minimums, not a test of compliance.

46 of 259 FDDs (17.8%) name VetFran. Every one of them also discloses a veteran incentive, while 84 FDDs offer an incentive without naming VetFran.

Figure 6Share of veteran initial-fee discounts at or above each VetFran Star minimum (FDDs issued 2025 to 2026)
0.0%25.0%50.0%75.0%100%90.6%1-Star minimum (10%)47.0%3-Star minimum (15%)34.2%5-Star minimum (20%)
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Tier minimums: IFA, VetFran for Brand Partners (accessed 2026-10-07). Download data (CSV)
Table 4Veteran fee discounts compared with VetFran Star minimums, FDDs issued 2025 to 2026
VetFran Star tier minimum (IFA, 2026)Initial-fee discounts at or above the minimumShare of all initial-fee discounts (%)Of which FDD names VetFranShare of VetFran-naming FDDs (%)
1-Star minimum (10%)10690.63797.4
3-Star minimum (15%)55472360.5
5-Star minimum (20%)4034.21950
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. Tier minimums: IFA, VetFran for Brand Partners (accessed 2026-10-07). Download CSV

SBA veteran loan fee relief and programs: FY2026 and FY2027 status

The one federal fee break aimed at veteran borrowers is narrow. For SBA Express loans to businesses owned and controlled by a veteran or the spouse of a veteran, the upfront guaranty fee is $0 in FY2026 (SBA Information Notice 5000-872051) and again in FY2027, for loans approved from 2026-10-01 (SBA Information Notice 5000-881797, published 2026-09-03). The waiver is written into the Small Business Act (15 U.S.C. 636(a)(31)(G)), which also covers Reserve members, service members eligible for the Transition Assistance Program and spouses.

SBA Express loans top out at $500,000 with a 50% SBA guaranty (SBA, 7(a) terms). Under the FY2027 schedule, a non-veteran borrower would owe 3% of the guaranteed portion on a $500,000 Express loan, or $7,500; on a $150,000 loan the 2% rate gives $1,500. Standard 7(a) loans, which go up to $5 million, carry no veteran-specific fee relief in FY2027. Our SBA franchise loans report covers how often 7(a) loans go to franchises.

Other SBA veteran programs are training or disaster support rather than franchise purchase finance: the Military Reservist Economic Injury Disaster Loan (up to $2 million at no more than 4%, SBA disaster assistance), 31 Veterans Business Outreach Centers (SBA resource partners) and the two-day Boots to Business course (SBA Boots to Business).

Table 5SBA programs for veterans and their status in FY2026 and FY2027 (United States)
ProgramWhat it offers veteransFY2026 status (Oct 2025 to Sep 2026)FY2027 status (Oct 2026 to Sep 2027)Source
SBA Express (7(a) delivery method)Upfront guaranty fee of $0 for businesses owned and controlled by a veteran or spouse of a veteran; loans up to $500,000 with a 50% SBA guarantyIn effect (Information Notice 5000-872051)In effect from 2026-10-01 (Information Notice 5000-881797, published 2026-09-03)SBA fee notices; 15 U.S.C. 636(a)(31)(G)
Standard 7(a) loansNo veteran-specific fee relief; FY2027 upfront fee 2% to 3.75% of the guaranteed portion by loan sizeStandard fees applyStandard fees applySBA Information Notice 5000-881797
Military Reservist Economic Injury Disaster Loan (MREIDL)Up to $2 million at no more than 4% for up to 30 years when an essential employee is called to active dutyAvailableAvailable (page current 2026-10-07)SBA disaster assistance page
Veterans Business Outreach Centers (VBOC)Training and counseling for veterans, service members, Guard and Reserve members and military spouses; 31 organizationsAvailableAvailable (page current 2026-10-07)SBA resource partners page
Boots to BusinessFree two-day entrepreneurship course within the DoD Transition Assistance ProgramAvailableAvailable (page current 2026-10-07)SBA Boots to Business page
Source: SBA Information Notices 5000-872051 (2025) and 5000-881797 (2026); 15 U.S.C. 636(a)(31)(G); SBA program pages accessed 2026-10-07. Download CSV

How many franchise owners are veterans

Census data show veteran-owned firms franchise at the same rate as nonveteran-owned firms. In 2023 (2024 ABS), 4.6% of veteran-owned employer firms operated all or partly as a franchise, the same as nonveteran-owned firms (4.6%), and veteran-owned firms made up 4.9% of franchise firms against 4.8% of all firms (Census ABS, table AB2300CSCB01). That is 6,421 veteran-owned franchise firms among responding employer firms.

IFA’s VetFran page states that 14% of all franchises are veteran owned, and a 2022 IFA press release put veterans at 14 percent of franchise owners; neither gives a source or definition (IFA). The Census figure counts firms majority-owned by veterans, so the two measure different things. Our franchise owner demographics report has the full owner-group detail.

Original analysis: how we calculated it

Veteran incentive prevalence, all sectors and by sector

Formula
FDDs with a veteran incentive / FDDs read; 95% Wilson interval
Inputs
F01, F04, F05, C01 to C15
Result
50.2% (44.1% to 56.2%); sectors 27.8% to 77.8%
Limitations
Equal sector quotas, so the all-sector rate is not weighted to the franchise population; sector cells are small.

Discount size distribution

Formula
discount $ (flat amount, or percent x standard fee, capped) / standard initial fee
Inputs
F18 to F30
Result
median 10.71% of the fee; median $6,000
Limitations
Where the fee is a range, a percent is applied to the low end; extra territory discounts are not added.

Discount as a share of total Item 7 investment

Formula
discount $ / Item 7 low (and high) total, per FDD; median
Inputs
F31 to F36
Result
3.08% of the low end; 1.76% of the high end
Limitations
Item 7 is the franchisor's estimate; real costs vary by site.

Eligibility rules mix

Formula
FDDs stating each rule / FDDs with an incentive
Inputs
F37 to F48
Result
honorable discharge 76.9%; first unit only 40.0%; spouses 7.7%
Limitations
Rules stated only in the franchise agreement may be missed where Item 5 is silent.

Comparison with VetFran tier minimums

Formula
share of fee discounts at or above 10%, 15% and 20% of the fee
Inputs
F51 to F53, W01 to W03
Result
90.6%, 47.0%, 34.2%
Limitations
Star status not observed; FDDs issued before the star pages.

Veteran fee discount against SBA Express fee relief

Formula
median fee discount / fee waived on a $500,000 Express loan (500,000 x 50% x 3%)
Inputs
F22, D01, S01, S04, S07, S08
Result
$6,000 vs $7,500 (ratio 0.8)
Limitations
Express loans only; the lender may or may not pass the fee to the borrower.

Veteran offers by brand, as disclosed in each FDD

The table lists every brand in our sample with a veteran incentive, the offer as the FDD words it, the standard fee we used and the dollar value. It records disclosures only; it is not a ranking, and inclusion is not an endorsement. The downloadable dataset links each row to its FDD in Minnesota CARDS.

Table 6Veteran incentives disclosed in 130 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 (Minnesota registrations)
BrandSectorFDD issue dateVeteran offer in the FDDStandard initial fee ($)Discount value ($)Discount as % of Item 7 low (%)FDD names VetFran
Alloy Wheel Repair SpecialistsAutomotive2026-05-2510% off40,0004,0004.04no
Jiffy LubeAutomotive2026-03-27Fee waived35,00035,00016.59no
MeinekeAutomotive2025-06-20Royalty reduction45,000yes
Midas ShopAutomotive2026-04-16Fee waived35,00035,0009.08no
Milex Complete Auto Care | Mr. TransmissionAutomotive2026-04-29$6,750 off45,0006,7502.52yes
Milex/ Mr. TransmissionAutomotive2025-03-21$6,750 off45,0006,7502.52yes
NextCarAutomotive2025-10-0610% off30,0003,0000.95no
Priceless Car and Truck RentalAutomotive2025-10-0610% off30,0003,0001.13no
ActionCOACHBusiness services2026-05-01$5,000 off45,0005,0007.78yes
Charles SchwabBusiness services2026-04-03$25,000 off50,00025,00024.13no
Intelligent OfficeBusiness services2026-05-2710% off49,5004,9501.97no
Murphy Business & Financial CorporationBusiness services2026-04-14$5,000 off47,5005,0007.59yes
NTV 360Business services2026-04-10Other incentive39,000no
Silbar SecurityBusiness services2026-04-0210% off50,0005,0003.44no
Speedy FreightBusiness services2026-03-3015% off49,5007,4259.93no
The Growth CoachBusiness services2026-04-16$5,000 off39,9005,00010.42no
Venture XBusiness services2026-05-2710% off79,5007,9500.33no
BOR RestorationCleaning and restoration2026-04-1610% off35,0003,5001.88no
Dryer Vent WizardCleaning and restoration2026-04-0120% off49,9009,98011.76yes
Fish Window CleaningCleaning and restoration2025-04-0210% off49,9004,9904.66yes
Lightspeed RestorationCleaning and restoration2026-04-0115% off59,9508,9925.72no
MilliCare Floor & Textile CareCleaning and restoration2026-04-01$10,000 off49,00010,0004.97yes
New CreationsCleaning and restoration2026-05-12Other incentive70,000no
OpenWorksCleaning and restoration2026-04-0910% off2,5002505.88no
Renew MedicCleaning and restoration2026-05-1410% off100,00010,0002.61yes
RenueCleaning and restoration2026-03-1310% off74,5007,4504.09no
ServiceMaster RestoreCleaning and restoration2026-04-3020% off72,50014,5005.04no
System 4Cleaning and restoration2026-03-26$5,000 off96,0005,0003.91no
True NorthCleaning and restoration2026-04-30$5,000 off60,0005,0002.92no
Challenge IslandEducation and children2026-04-2110% off49,9004,9908.54yes
HavenEducation and children2026-03-16$10,000 off55,00010,0001.34no
Huntington Learning CenterEducation and children2026-04-16$10,500 off42,00010,5005.47yes
SkyhawksEducation and children2026-04-3030% off29,5008,85019.75no
SnapologyEducation and children2026-04-305% off40,0002,0002.67no
Taste Buds KitchenEducation and children2026-02-25$5,000 off49,5005,0001.17no
The Little GymEducation and children2026-04-245% off59,5002,9750.71no
The Tutoring CenterEducation and children2025-03-21Royalty reduction32,000yes
810 EntertainmentEntertainment and recreation2026-04-0815% off50,0007,5000.26no
Five Iron GolfEntertainment and recreation2026-04-27$5,000 off50,0005,0000.26yes
Golf EnvyEntertainment and recreation2026-04-1810% off50,0005,0001.43no
Golf VXEntertainment and recreation2026-01-0920% off35,0007,0000.86no
GolfTRKEntertainment and recreation2026-04-07$5,000 off60,0005,0001.25no
Monster Mini GolfEntertainment and recreation2026-04-08$5,000 off60,0005,0000.56no
Pickleball 365Entertainment and recreation2026-06-2310% off50,0005,0001.5no
X-GolfEntertainment and recreation2026-04-1510% off40,0004,0000.35no
iSmashEntertainment and recreation2026-04-1510% off59,9505,9951.71no
Club PilatesFitness2026-04-17$16,250 off65,00016,2503.93yes
D1 Sports, D1 Sports TrainingFitness2026-04-3010% off62,5006,2501.56no
Fit Body Boot CampFitness2026-04-0225% off57,60014,4007.35no
Gold's GymFitness2026-05-1320% off40,0008,0000.34no
Stretch LabFitness2026-04-17$15,000 off60,00015,0005.33yes
Sweat440Fitness2026-04-30$5,000 off60,0005,0001.61no
The Exercise CoachFitness2025-04-2110% off49,5004,9501.91no
Vaura Studios and VauraFitness2026-04-0125% off100,00025,0002.88no
Vertica FitnessFitness2026-04-30$1,000 off59,9501,0000.51no
Cold Stone CreameryFood and beverage2026-03-2720% off27,0005,4001.38no
Frank & Furter'sFood and beverage2025-04-3010% off35,0003,5001no
Happy Joe'sFood and beverage2026-01-28$10,000 off40,00010,0001.83no
Huddle HouseFood and beverage2025-09-3025% off35,0008,7501.58yes
KonalaFood and beverage2025-09-1925% off40,00010,0001.76no
Manchu WokFood and beverage2026-03-2720% off30,0006,0001.24no
Milkshake FactoryFood and beverage2025-04-30$5,000 off60,0005,0000.98no
Moe's Southwest GrillFood and beverage2026-03-27$15,500 off35,50015,5002.4yes
Rock N Roll SushiFood and beverage2026-04-20$9,000 off36,0009,0002.76yes
Taco TimeFood and beverage2026-03-2720% off30,0006,0001.64no
Villa PizzaFood and beverage2026-03-2320% off25,0005,0001.34no
ARCpoint LabsHealth and wellness2026-05-0810% off54,5005,4503.29yes
Ellie Mental HealthHealth and wellness2026-04-30$10,000 off60,00010,0005.28no
HealthSource ChiropracticHealth and wellness2026-04-08$5,000 off60,0005,0001.15yes
Hydrate IV BarHealth and wellness2026-04-30$5,000 off50,0005,0001.44no
Pearle VisionHealth and wellness2026-03-2720% off30,0006,0000.76no
Perspire Sauna StudioHealth and wellness2026-04-29$5,000 off50,0005,0000.95no
Restore Hyper WellnessHealth and wellness2026-04-0610% off44,5004,4500.58no
Success On The SpectrumHealth and wellness2026-04-1415% off45,0006,7501.99no
3 Day Kitchen & BathHome services2026-01-1610% off60,0006,0005.19no
Ace Handyman ServicesHome services2026-03-25$7,000 off70,0007,0005.29yes
Archadeck Outdoor LivingHome services2026-01-2715% off59,5008,9254.14yes
College Hunks Moving | College Hunks Hauling JunkHome services2026-04-30$3,750 off35,0003,7502.71no
Five Star Bath SolutionsHome services2026-04-0310% off59,5005,9503.67yes
GoliathTechHome services2026-04-29Other incentive49,500no
Hole in the WallHome services2026-02-2410% off59,5005,9506.84no
HouseMasterHome services2026-04-01$6,000 off42,5006,0008.12yes
JunkCo+Home services2025-03-2820% off55,00011,0005.48yes
Painter BrosHome services2026-04-1515% off75,00011,2506no
Service ExpertsHome services2026-04-1710% off59,9005,9904.03no
The Tailored ClosetHome services2026-03-2015% off74,95011,2426.35no
U.S. LawnsHome services2026-04-01$10,000 off49,00010,0008.85yes
Comfort InnLodging2026-04-01Other incentive50,000yes
Park Inn by RadissonLodging2026-04-01Other incentive45,000yes
RadissonLodging2026-04-01Other incentive75,000yes
Radisson Individuals HotelLodging2026-04-01Other incentive75,000yes
Rodeway InnLodging2026-04-01Other incentive25,000yes
WoodSpring SuitesLodging2026-04-01Other incentive50,000yes
DrybarPersonal services and beauty2025-03-2720% off50,00010,0002.44no
Fantastic SamsPersonal services and beauty2025-05-2325% off40,00010,0005.83no
Hand and Stone Massage and Facial SpaPersonal services and beauty2026-04-0620% off49,5009,9003.08yes
Heights Wellness RetreatPersonal services and beauty2026-03-23$5,000 off59,5005,0000.53no
OVO SalonPersonal services and beauty2026-04-3010% off69,0006,9001.78no
All American Pet ResortsPet services2025-04-3010% off60,0006,0000.75no
Aussie Pet Mobile (CARDS listing: Bark & Mane)Pet services2026-04-0115% off119,95017,99210.75no
Bark BustersPet services2026-03-1610% off49,5004,9506.35no
Camp Bow WowPet services2025-05-0150% off50,00025,0002.65yes
Central BarkPet services2026-06-0310% off55,0005,5000.89yes
Earthwise Pet and GroomBarPet services2026-08-0610% off45,0004,5005.75no
GROOMBAR Mobile GroomingPet services2025-02-2415% off30,0004,5008.36no
Hike DoggiePet services2026-04-1710% off45,0004,5005.42no
K9 Resorts Luxury Pet HotelPet services2026-04-1310% off49,5004,9500.21no
Pet EvolutionPet services2026-06-12$10,000 off59,00010,0001.65no
Pet Supplies PlusPet services2026-04-2020% off49,9009,9801.92yes
Pet WantsPet services2026-04-0910% off53,5005,3503.61yes
Ace HardwareRetail2025-03-27Fee waived5,0005,0000.83no
CornwellRetail2025-04-01Other incentiveno
Fast-Fix Jewelry and Watch RepairsRetail2025-06-2650% off20,00010,0008.72yes
Interstate All Battery CenterRetail2026-06-26Other incentive37,500no
Snooze Mattress Co.Retail2025-05-0210% off49,9004,9901.65no
Soccer PostRetail2025-03-18$10,000 off29,50010,0004.97no
Caring Senior ServiceSenior and in-home care2026-05-2120% off49,0009,8009.8yes
ComForCare Home CareSenior and in-home care2026-03-1820% off59,00011,80011.52yes
Comfort KeepersSenior and in-home care2025-12-1920% off55,00011,0009.2yes
Family NestSenior and in-home care2025-06-1710% off34,5003,4506.27no
FirstLight Home CareSenior and in-home care2025-03-24$7,500 off50,0007,5005.91yes
HomeWell Care ServicesSenior and in-home care2026-04-2020% off49,5009,90014.27yes
Homewatch CareGiversSenior and in-home care2026-04-3030% off50,00015,00010.5yes
Interim HealthcareSenior and in-home care2026-05-2010% off75,0007,5004.81no
Legato LivingSenior and in-home care2026-04-2510% off50,0005,0003.99no
Nurse Next DoorSenior and in-home care2025-12-0510% off72,0007,2006.04no
Oasis Senior AdvisorsSenior and in-home care2026-04-1710% off40,0004,0006.34yes
Talem Home CareSenior and in-home care2025-04-2220% off44,5008,9009.8no
Touching HeartsSenior and in-home care2026-04-3010% off49,5004,9505.85yes
Town SquareSenior and in-home care2026-04-3010% off99,5009,9501.11no
Source: Franchise Consultants and Brokers coding of 259 FDDs issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18, Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations. 'Other incentive' = credit, forgivable note, financing or territory term. Download CSV

Buyer checklist for veteran franchise discounts

These checks follow what the FDDs disclose. Ask for the answers in writing.

  1. Find the offer in Item 5 of the current FDD and in the franchise agreement. Several FDDs in our sample state different amounts in different places.
  2. Ask what the percentage applies to: the franchise fee only, or territory and development fees too.
  3. Check the proof required: DD-214, honorable discharge, years of service or a discharge within a set period.
  4. Check the ownership rule. Many offers require the veteran to own 51% of the franchisee entity.
  5. Ask whether the offer covers a second unit, a spouse, or a Reserve or Guard member.
  6. Price the whole opening budget from Item 7 and the ongoing fees from Item 6; see our franchise costs guide.
  7. If you plan to borrow, ask the lender whether the loan is SBA Express (veteran upfront fee of $0 in FY2027) or a standard 7(a) loan (full fee).
  8. Read the FTC’s consumer guide to buying a franchise before you sign.

Methods in brief

We reused the 259-brand sample of our royalty rates report: one Clean FDD per brand from Minnesota CARDS, issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18. A script searched each full FDD text for veteran and military terms. Brands with no hit were coded as having no incentive. AI-assisted readers then coded every brand with a hit under a written codebook, using the full Item 5 and every hit in context. We re-read 20 random brands independently against the full text: 1 disagreement in 139 fields (0.7%), and no error on whether an incentive exists. The full method is below.

In short

  • 130 of 259 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 (50.2%) disclose a veteran incentive; 117 (45.2%) discount the initial franchise fee.
  • The most common offer is 10% off the initial fee; 59.2% of incentives are a percentage and 26.9% a flat amount.
  • The median discount is worth $6,000, or 3.08% of the low end of the Item 7 total investment.
  • Only 3 of 130 incentives (2.3%) reduce or credit royalties.
  • 76.9% require an honorable discharge; 7.7% extend to spouses; 40.0% apply to the first unit only.
  • Senior and in-home care leads (77.8%); lodging incentives are forgivable development notes, not fee cuts.
  • SBA Express loans to veteran-owned businesses keep a $0 upfront guaranty fee in FY2027.

What's new

As of October 7, 2026
  • 2026-10-07: First release. 259 FDDs read; 181 were issued in 2026.
  • 2026-10-01: SBA’s FY2027 fee schedule took effect, keeping a $0 upfront guaranty fee on SBA Express loans to veteran-owned businesses (Information Notice 5000-881797, published 2026-09-03).
  • 2026-08: IFA marked VetFran’s 35th year and said over 500 franchise brands take part.
  • 2026: IFA’s VetFran pages list a Star System with minimum fee discounts of 10%, 15% and 20% (checked 2026-10-07).
  • 2025-08-28: SBA’s FY2026 notice kept the same $0 Express fee for veteran-owned businesses.

Questions people ask

Do franchises offer military discounts?

About half do. In our read of 259 FDDs issued in 2025 and 2026, 130 (50.2%) disclose an incentive for veterans or service members, and 117 (45.2%) cut the initial franchise fee. 31 of those also cover active-duty members (Minnesota CARDS).

What is VetFran?

VetFran is a program of the IFA Foundation that offers free franchising education to veterans and military families and lists brands that give veterans incentives. IFA says over 500 brands take part and that it was founded 35 years ago; its 2026 Star System sets minimum fee discounts of 10%, 15% and 20% (IFA).

Can veterans get SBA loans for a franchise?

Yes, through the same SBA 7(a) program as other borrowers, subject to SBA eligibility rules. The veteran-specific benefit is a $0 upfront guaranty fee on SBA Express loans (up to $500,000) in FY2026 and FY2027 (SBA Information Notice 5000-881797). On a $500,000 Express loan that fee would otherwise be $7,500.

What is the best franchise for a veteran?

No single franchise is best for every veteran. The data show where incentives are common (senior care 77.8%, home services 72.2%), but a discount worth a median 3.08% of the opening budget should not decide the choice. Compare Item 7 costs, Item 19 disclosures and fit; our franchise match quiz narrows options by budget and interests.

Do veteran discounts apply to royalties?

Rarely. Only 3 of 130 veteran incentives in FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 (2.3%) reduce or credit royalties, for example a 50% royalty cut for the first six months or a one-time $5,000 royalty credit. The rest apply to initial fees only.

Frequently asked questions

What share of franchisors offer veteran franchise discounts?

50.2% of 259 FDDs issued 2025 to 2026 disclose a veteran incentive; 45.2% discount the initial fee.

How big is a typical veteran franchise discount?

10% of the initial franchise fee is the most common offer. The median dollar value is $6,000, and half fall between $5,000 and $10,000.

How much does a veteran discount save on the total cost of opening?

The median discount equals 3.08% of the low end of the FDD’s Item 7 total investment and 1.76% of the high end (FDDs issued 2025 to 2026).

Do I need an honorable discharge to get a veteran franchise discount?

Usually. 76.9% of FDDs with a veteran incentive require an honorable discharge or DD-214 in the FDD text. Check each FDD and franchise agreement.

Can military spouses get veteran franchise discounts?

Sometimes. 10 of 130 FDDs with a veteran incentive (7.7%) name spouses or family members. SBA’s Express fee waiver does cover spouses of veterans.

Are active-duty service members eligible?

In 31 of 130 FDDs with a veteran incentive (23.8%). Most offers are written for veterans who have left service.

Can I use a veteran discount on more than one franchise unit?

Often not: 40.0% of veteran incentives apply to the first unit only, and 23.1% cannot be combined with other discounts.

Do all VetFran brands offer the same discount?

No. IFA’s 2026 tiers set minimums of 10%, 15% and 20%. Among 38 FDDs that name VetFran and discount the fee, 97.4% reach 10% and 50.0% reach 20%.

Is the SBA veteran loan fee waiver still in effect?

Yes for SBA Express. The upfront guaranty fee for veteran-owned businesses is $0 for loans approved 2025-10-01 to 2026-09-30 and 2026-10-01 to 2027-09-30, per SBA’s FY2026 and FY2027 fee notices.

What share of franchise owners are veterans?

Veteran-owned firms were 4.9% of franchise employer firms in 2023 (Census ABS). IFA cites 14% of franchises without a source; the measures differ.

For journalists

Most quotable statistics

If you cite only a few, cite these

  • 50.2% of 259 FDDs (2025 to 2026) disclose a veteran incentive; 45.2% discount the initial fee. source
  • Median veteran fee discount $6,000, or 3.08% of low-end Item 7 investment. source
  • 2.3% of veteran incentives touch royalties. source
Press summary and suggested headlines

Franchise Consultants and Brokers read 259 franchise disclosure documents issued between January 2025 and August 2026 and registered in Minnesota to measure veteran franchise discounts. 130 FDDs (50.2%) offer veterans or service members an incentive, and 117 (45.2%) discount the initial franchise fee. The most common offer is 10% off that fee. Converted to dollars with each FDD's own fee, the median discount is $6,000, which equals 3.08% of the low end of the total initial investment the same FDD discloses. Only 3 incentives touch royalties. 76.9% require an honorable discharge and 7.7% extend to spouses. Senior care FDDs offer incentives most often (77.8%); lodging FDDs use forgivable development notes instead of fee cuts. Separately, SBA keeps a $0 upfront guaranty fee on SBA Express loans to veteran-owned businesses for FY2027. Census data show veteran-owned firms franchise at the same 4.6% rate as other firms.

Suggested headlines

  • Half of 259 franchise disclosure documents offer veterans an incentive; the median discount is $6,000
  • Veteran franchise discounts cover about 3% of the low-end cost of opening, an FDD review finds
  • Royalty relief for veterans is rare: 3 of 130 franchise incentives touch ongoing fees
  • SBA keeps $0 loan fee for veteran-owned businesses on Express loans through FY2027
  • Senior care franchisors lead on veteran incentives; hotels use forgivable notes instead

Methodology

Sample. We reused the 259-brand sample built for our franchise royalty rates report so the datasets join. It holds one Clean FDD per brand from Minnesota CARDS, issued 2025-01-24 to 2026-08-18 (181 in 2026), drawn with quotas of 18 brands per sector (27 food; 17 automotive and health). Because quotas are equal by sector, all-sector shares describe this sample, not the franchise population.

Coding. A script searched the full text of each FDD (pdftotext) for veteran, military, armed forces, VetFran, service member, active duty, honorable, National Guard, reservist, first responder, DD-214, Gold Star and branch names. 56 FDDs had no hit and were coded as having no incentive. The other 203 were coded in six batches by AI-assisted readers working from the full Item 5 and every hit in context, opening the full text when needed, under a written codebook (data/veteran_codebook.md). A veteran incentive is any reduction, waiver, credit, rebate or special financing term on a fee owed to the franchisor that is offered because of military service. Military bases as sites, officer biographies and Servicemembers Civil Relief Act clauses do not count. We reviewed every medium- or low-confidence coding and applied 11 documented harmonisation changes (data/coding_overrides.csv): three fee bases where the percent also applies to required territory fees, and eight FDDs that offer first responders a separate discount.

Hand check. We drew 20 brands at random (seed 20261007) and re-read each FDD in full before comparing. 1 of 139 field comparisons disagreed (0.7%): a fee basis recorded for a hotel incentive that is not a fee discount, which no calculation uses. No brand’s incentive status was wrong (data/handcheck.csv).

Calculations. Dollar value = the flat amount, or the percent times the FDD’s standard single-unit initial fee (the low end where the fee is a range), capped where a cap is stated. Share of Item 7 = dollar value divided by the low and high Item 7 totals of the same FDD. Intervals are 95% Wilson intervals. Conditions an FDD does not state are counted as absent. Scripts and CSVs are in the report folder and reproduce every number.

Conflicts. Where an FDD states different amounts in Item 5, Item 7 or the franchise agreement (five cases), we used Item 5 and noted the conflict in the dataset. Where IFA and Census veteran-ownership figures differ, we report both and explain the definitions; IFA’s 14% has no published source.

Limits. An FDD shows what is offered, not how many veterans used it or what was negotiated. Discretionary offers (“may”) are counted. Non-fee incentives (forgivable notes, credits) are counted as incentives but have no dollar value here. Web sources were opened on 2026-10-07. Last updated 2026-10-07.

Sources and source quality

Tier 1: primary and government sources (15)

  1. Minnesota CARDS franchise registrations (259 Clean FDDs linked in the dataset), Minnesota Department of Commerce (accessed 2026-10-07)
  2. SBA Information Notice 5000-881797: 7(a) Fees Effective October 1, 2026 for FY2027, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  3. SBA Information Notice 5000-872051: 7(a) Fees Effective October 1, 2025 for FY2026, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  4. 15 U.S.C. 636(a)(31)(G), guarantee fee waiver for veterans, Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School (accessed 2026-10-07)
  5. 38 U.S.C. 101(2), definition of veteran, Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School (accessed 2026-10-07)
  6. 7(a) loan program: terms, conditions, and eligibility, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  7. 7(a) loans, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  8. Veteran-owned businesses (business guide), U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  9. Veterans, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  10. Disaster assistance: Military Reservist Economic Injury Disaster Loans, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  11. Resource partners: Veterans Business Outreach Centers, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  12. Boots to Business, U.S. Small Business Administration (accessed 2026-10-07)
  13. 16 CFR 436.5, Franchise Rule disclosure items (2026 edition), U.S. Government Publishing Office (accessed 2026-10-07)
  14. A Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise, Federal Trade Commission (accessed 2026-10-07)
  15. Annual Business Survey 2023 (2024 ABS), table AB2300CSCB01, U.S. Census Bureau (accessed 2026-10-07)

Tier 2: trade bodies, market research, company filings (3)

  1. VetFran for Brand Partners (Star System tiers), International Franchise Association (accessed 2026-10-07)
  2. VetFran: Franchising for Veterans, International Franchise Association (accessed 2026-10-07)
  3. Celebrating VetFran's Legacy (August 2026), International Franchise Association (accessed 2026-10-07)

Tier 3: journalism and commentary (1)

  1. IFA press release on military engagement (February 2022), International Franchise Association (accessed 2026-10-07)

How to cite and reuse

Franchise Consultants and Brokers Editorial Team. "Veteran Franchise Discounts: What 259 FDDs Offer, and What It Covers (2025 to 2026)." Franchise Consultants and Brokers, updated October 7, 2026. https://franchiseconsultantsandbrokers.com/research/veteran-franchise-discounts/

The data tables and charts on this page are licensed under CC BY 4.0. Please credit “Franchise Consultants and Brokers, franchiseconsultantsandbrokers.com” with a link to this page.

Download the data

Looking at Franchises Yourself?

A franchise consultant can walk you through brands that fit your budget. Free for buyers.
Get My Free Franchise Match
Free for buyers. No obligation.
Franchise consultants are usually paid by franchisors, so their help is free to buyers. This site may be paid by consultants for introductions. Read our disclosures.